retrolillies

Six Impossible Things

Whew! This July has been kind of crazy. I need some sleep! My photography course at FIT demanded that I wake up in the wee hours of the morning to catch a train to NYC and once my half-day class was over, I usually spent the rest of the day traipsing (or maybe trudging? definitely trudging, it got humid) around the city with my friend, exploring everywhere from Downtown to small eateries to the not-so-glamorous underbelly of Manhattan: the subway.
While the days left me completely exhausted, with not as much time for baking + blogging as I’d hoped, the experience was wonderful, and one I’d definitely repeat. The class was immersive, hands-on, and informative, and I learnt valuable tips and met wonderful people. We had shoots at the Highline, experimented with lighting in the FIT studio and visited multiple galleries in Chelsea, all of which gave me a new, inspiring perspective on photography.
After classes, too, my friend and I made it a point to visit new places. We went to Dumbo, Brooklyn, which is the sweetest little neighborhood right near the water with a killer lemonade stand to boot. (It’s called Lizzmonade- if you go, get the blueberry basil!) In the Upper West Side, we had lunch at My Most Favorite Food and explored some old landmarks. We did the Union Square Greenmarket one Monday, ate falafel in Bryant Park another day, and had an impromptu photoshoot in the Flower District yet another day.
Looking back, this month has been crazy, awesome and pretty much non-stop go, and now that my 3 week course is over, I can’t wait to relax a little. And go through my pictures, so I can share them with you! And complete the rest of my #SummerGoals! (I crossed out the ones I completed on my list- check the post for my emendations.)
But first, weekend. Weekend.

“Why, sometimes I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast!” – White Queen, Alice in Wonderland.
Six impossibly awesome things.

pie making

∞ The result of a peach pie craving and too few peaches: a blueberry peach pie, by which we have come to judge all other pies ∞

sweet corn and tomatoes

∞ Yellow summer produce in the form of sweet, fresh corn and campari tomatoes  ∞

opening peonies ∞ Delicate peonies from the Flower District on our dining room table ∞

tartine croissant

∞ Tartine croissants, from my #SummerGoals list ∞

deer

∞ After a quick and sudden downpour, this deer appeared in the backyard. He disappeared pretty quickly, but not before I snapped one quick picture. ∞

moshe's falafel

∞ Falafel from Moshe’s Falafel Truck, for my #SummerGoals list ∞

This entry was published on July 24, 2015 at 12:50 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Six Impossible Things

  1. This post made me hungry omg 😄 Love the pictures btw!

Leave a Reply

