retrolillies

Just Because: Masquerade

Since the Jewish holiday of Purim is in around two weeks from now, I thought I’d do a a post about costumes.
Dressing up was always one of my favorite parts of Purim and still continues to be, expect now the costumes have matured a little bit. Where I used to relish the opportunity of wearing a princess-y dress, now I like the look of masks; specifically, Venetian carnival masks. They’re intricate and luxurious, and they make dressing up just a little more sophisticated, by adding a mysterious yet playful touch.

masked

“A mask you ask? Optional I find! Masks lend appeal of a mysterious kind.” E.A Bucchianeri

masks

“I believe in my mask- the man I made up is me. I believe in my dance- and my destiny” – Sam Shepard 

masquerade

“Masked, I advance.” – Rene Descartes

*Pictures sourced from online.

This entry was published on March 4, 2014 at 8:44 am. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

